Stocking Ideas HELP!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

TetraMan2007

Reaction score
This is my first time using this website, so please understand if there is any mistakes. I have a ten gallon aquarium with 6 neon Tetra. It previously had 5 ghost shrimp and 4 guppies. Now that those fish have died, my tetras look kind of lonely in there. I was wondering if there is any fish that could go with them. I am looking for a peaceful fish that is a “centerpiece fish”. I thought about a betta, But I didn’t want to take the risk. Also is there any kind of algae eater for a 10 gallon? Some algae is building up. I have done extensive research but have not found a fish that is available at my local fish store. any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

P.S. this is my first tank, so I want a fish that is Hardy and adaptable to different water parameters.

Welcome to the forum!

@TetraMan2007 10 gallons is quite a small tank, and centrepiece don't usually look right in small tanks. In my opinion, you would be better of without a single fish as a centrepiece.

Viking asked about your GH (or hardness) because we should aim to keep fish that come from water with the same hardness as our tap water. For example, neon tetras come from soft water, while the guppies that died are hard water fish.
We don't like to suggest fish until we know if a member has hard, soft or middling water. The first thing is to look on your water provider's website for 'hardness'. You need a number and the unit of measurement rather than vague words. The unit is important as there are around half a dozen they could use. Once we know your GH, you will get lots of suggestions :)