Silent Cycle - will the bacteria establish themselves as well?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Micko50

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I just have a question i'm hoping you can answer.

I am a newbie and have just started my first tank set up. I got the Juwel Rio 180L with their standard filter media and pump set up.

Added API Quickstart and planned to do a fish-less cycle. Went to my local aquarium to get some Ammonia and some live plants and I was recommended to get some fish straight away. Ended up getting 10 neon tetras and 3 large java ferns. Added 2 more doses of quickstart in the first week. Using the APL master test kit, I tested every second day and got 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 0 nitrates. No dramas.

Week 2: Had a large Algae bloom!; still 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 0 nitrates. Added 2 Hornwort plants and an Anubais on driftwood. Added 3 Otos and 2 pleccos. Did a 15% water change. Used API water conditioner.

Week 3 and 4: Ammonia was max 0.25ppm, still 0 nitrates and 0 nitrites. Did a 35% water change on Saturday. Ammonia levels hover between 0 - 0.25ppm. 0 nitrites or 0 nitrates still.

Tank parameters: pH 7.6 - 8.2. Temp 24 - 26 degrees Celsius, Hardness of our water is 71ppm (4 dH).

Had zero fish losses, Hornwort plants are turning pink/brown at the top. Algae under relative control. Fish seem happy and show no signs of stress. Just added 9 Guppies yesterday.

I seem to have inadvertently done a silent cycle, the plants seem to me to take all the Ammonia and Nirites and leave very little for the bacteria to feed on. I have been expecting an ammonia spike, followed by nitrates and then nitrites, but that hasn't happened.

MY QUESTION: - will the bacteria establish themselves once I continue to gradually introduce more fish? Will I get an ammonia spike, then go through a regular cycling process?

Ideally I don't want to rely on plants alone for cycling, would like the bacteria to do some work too.