self-doubting my cycling knowledge

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

waifofwukong

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time posting in any forum besides reddit and I always come to this site when searching for answers so why not finally sign up. Please be nice, I'm quite nervous haha. Currently I own a small cycled tank set up for my 3 year old amano shrimps from past tanks, I'm taking a break from owning "fish" right now and these guys have been pretty low maintenance.. So I do know the steps on how to cycle, but it has been a while since I've done it.

Recently(on another community), someone asked a question on whether or not they needed to continue dosing their tank everyday with food pellets as they are getting quite busy. I noted that because it seems there was presence of nitrite and nitrate in their params (their ammonia was at .25-.50ppm, cycling 2.5g), I told them they didn't need to dose everyday as long as there was ammonia in the tank. My reason for this is because as long as ammonia is not at 0, the beneficial bacteria would not "starve", plus they should be testing daily and would know when to add more. Is this wrong? I've read sites where it said to wait for ammonia to go down to 0 then dose back up to 4ppm, or if it falls below 3ppm then dose. But then there are others who say to dose .25ppm - 1ppm at a time when starting a tank as well.

Someone disagreed with me and said they should be dosing everyday because ammonia doesn't just stop and it needed to simulate a real-life functioning tank where there is continuous supply of ammonia like a fish would do, else the bacteria would starve. I didn't quite understand so I tried to explain my side where the ammonia is still being supplied, just not having to be dosed every day; This was the way I've always done my cycling. Is my method wrong?