Research First

JessiMommy said:
I do appreciate the first poster coming back & apologizing for coming across so harsh. I know what you both are trying to say & it does suck that it happens so often but again, wrong board to be venting on.
I was trying to agree with you! I didn't mean to come off as being harsh. I am still quite new to fish keeping, especially intelligent fish keeping where I know what I am trying to do most of the time. What frustrates a lot of experienced fish keepers is that most people don't do any research into having a tank. If they vent their frustrations it probably should be on another board but they may have wanted newbies to read it so they could understand how experienced fish keepers feel.

guppymonkey said:
What frustrates a lot of experienced fish keepers is that most people don't do any research into having a tank. If they vent their frustrations it probably should be on another board but they may have wanted newbies to read it so they could understand how experienced fish keepers feel.
Believe me, I do know what you are trying to say but... by the time the newbies get here the damage has already been done. Why chase them off? So they can go make more mistakes? Why not educate them so no future mistakes are made by them. Then they can in turn educate those around them that may try to start up the hobby.

The intention of the original post is correct: Hey, everybody out there, DO SOME RESEARCH!! If you don't, innocent lives are at stake!!!

I have 2 different bits of advice IMHO.

First, for all who have some knowledge to share:
Let's encourage reseaching + sharing, let's make it fun, let's make researching as much fun as keeping fish! :nod:

Second, for Newbies and not: