Red Rocks Are They Aquarium Friendly?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Masami

Reaction score
I would like to aquascape my fluval chi with some plants and rocks to make a more life like environment, the rocks in the picture below I received with a second hand tank I purchased so I would like to gauge opinions on whether they are safe to use in such a small tank environment (with a dwarf puffer) as they appear to be mineral rock at a first glance (shiny crystal like bits in them).

Just peoples general thoughts would be good.

rocks.jpg

Rocks that have mixed colours, usually mean they've got metals in them, but I'm no expert. I would personally avoid them if at all unsure.
You could always do the vinegar test. Pour some on the rock, if it starts to fizz, don't put it in. But of nothing happens, its safe.
But I would try googling the rock to try find out it that IS some kind of metal that's through it.

Hope this helps, good luck :good:

G

Hard to say from the picture, are the darker areas of the rock crystalline (ie interlocking crystals without gaps in between? If they are-

A good way of identifying a carbonate is to see how hard it is- in general carbonates scratch with a nail or a knife tip, silicates do not.

Colour does vary hugely in rocks due to their chemical makeup and wether they contain metals but isn't really any use in determining whether it is safe in an aquarium, the main thing is avoiding water soluble rocks which will change the pH of the water.

Vinegar isn't really strong enough to be reliable, it's a weak acid and is often fairly dilute when you get it for food use. Try a stronger acid such as limescale remover.

You could also lick it, if bits come off it's going to fall apart, and if it's salty it's a bad move.