Questions about my Betta

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Falaria

Reaction score
Hello! I'm somewhat new to fish keeping. I have a male Betta named Jasper. I've had him almost a year. I moved him from an embarrassingly small aquarium to a 10 gallon. He seems happy. Fairly active. Always comes to say "hello" when I come up to his home.

My water parameters are stable. Temp at 75. Feeding him New Life Spectrum Betta. I feed between 2-4 pellets, twice daily, fasting once per week. Frankly, I am uncertain if I am feeding him enough, too much, or too little. I also was thinking of including some frozen insects. I don't really want to deal with live... I would appreciate some recommendations on best insects to feed and best USA or online source to buy from (also affordable...).

I have some health questions. He has a white patch on his head. Also, a slight bulge at his tail. I'm not certain if this is normal or not?

I also would like to get some tank mates. I really wanted shrimp but several folks on here said they would rethink that. Which I am... But would like to know if anyone has successfully done a shrimp/betta tank and what species of shrimp. Or what other options you would recommend. Obviously, I don't want to overstock....

20200926_203403_HDR.jpg
20200926_203359_HDR.jpg
20200926_203317.jpg
20200922_181300_HDR.jpg
20200922_181234.jpg
I really would appreciate input from everyone who cares to respond. Thank you!

HI! You have a pretty fish. You might want to feed him maybe 5 pellets a day. For tankmates you can put a school of neon tetras or 2 african dwarf frogs. Maybe amano shrimp would be good. I don't know about the bulge and white spot though sorry.

HI! You have a pretty fish. You might want to feed him maybe 5 pellets a day. For tankmates you can put a school of neon tetras or 2 african dwarf frogs. Maybe amano shrimp would be good. I don't know about the bulge and white spot though sorry.