Pure Water

xxamyxx85

Fish Crazy
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
249
Reaction score
294
Location
England
Hi,

so I have found a local company that sells pure water, how do I remineralise it for my freshwater aquariums?
 

mbsqw1d

Fish Gatherer
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
2,491
Location
UK
Hi,

so I have found a local company that sells pure water, how do I remineralise it for my freshwater aquariums?
Haven't done it myself but Ive heard of products such as Seachem Equilibrium and Replenish (one is recommended for planted aquariums). But I think there are plenty of other products available. What fish are you after keeping in the RO water? @seangee is probably your man here
 
OP
xxamyxx85

xxamyxx85

Fish Crazy
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
249
Reaction score
294
Location
England
I have bettas atm both in planted tanks and I am setting up a community tank which will house neon tetras, guppies, bristlenose pleco, corydoras and a gourami. My tap water is such poor quality and I’m getting fed up with all the messing around. I will look at the equilibrium and the replenish, thank you!
 

Colin_T

Fish Guru
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
24,563
Reaction score
8,710
Location
Perth, WA
What is the pure water, is it distilled or reverse osmosis?

Rift Lake water conditioner at half strength for the guppies.

If you want to raise the GH for the other fishes, use the Rift Lake water conditioner at about 1/4 strength. However, the remaining fishes (neons, gourami, cory, pleco) all come from soft water with little mineral content.
 
OP
xxamyxx85

xxamyxx85

Fish Crazy
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
249
Reaction score
294
Location
England
It’s reverse osmosis.

ok great, thank you, so would I only need to add the rift lake water conditioner to make it suitable or is that combined with seachem equilibrium or something like that? How do I go about replacing the water in the tank, should the ro water be mixed with tap initially or just smaller water changes with the ro?
 

mbsqw1d

Fish Gatherer
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
2,491
Location
UK
It’s reverse osmosis.

ok great, thank you, so would I only need to add the rift lake water conditioner to make it suitable or is that combined with seachem equilibrium or something like that? How do I go about replacing the water in the tank, should the ro water be mixed with tap initially or just smaller water changes with the ro?
No the rift stuff is instead of the Seachem stuff, different product/option.

Are you looking to completely remove your tap water from the equation? Why so?
 
OP
xxamyxx85

xxamyxx85

Fish Crazy
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
249
Reaction score
294
Location
England
No the rift stuff is instead of the Seachem stuff, different product/option.

Are you looking to completely remove your tap water from the equation? Why so?
Ah ok, I will have a look at all of them.

The tap has nitrates and I’ve been messing around with a nitrate removal system which is costly, it’s high in phosphates also I’m not sure how they correlate to one another. I’m very new to this but I’m sure that my tap water is not good quality, I’m constantly testing the water to find different results once I’ve put it through the filter and I just Thought getting pure water which is very cheap and adding what needs to be added would make my life easier.
 
OP
xxamyxx85

xxamyxx85

Fish Crazy
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
249
Reaction score
294
Location
England

mbsqw1d

Fish Gatherer
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
2,491
Location
UK
I think it depends on the fish you're looking to keep and aim for their requirements concerning hardness.

If you tapwater is hard, then you could mix with RO to work towards to the hardness you require. This would also dilute the nitrogen and phosphate.

Otherwise, go for 100% RO and mix salts to get to the required hardness. Nitrogen and phosphate will be completely removed
 

hansgruber7

Fish Crazy
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
322
Reaction score
294
Location
Virginia
I use RO water and use Seachem Equilibrium along with Seachem Aqualine and Acid buffers and that's it. Seems to work well and the parameters have stayed stable, for what it's worth. I was forced into this because I have terrible tap water too. You might consider buying the RO Buddy system which I think is more convenient than buying and lugging the water from somewhere every week.
 
OP
xxamyxx85

xxamyxx85

Fish Crazy
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
249
Reaction score
294
Location
England
I think it depends on the fish you're looking to keep and aim for their requirements concerning hardness.

If you tapwater is hard, then you could mix with RO to work towards to the hardness you require. This would also dilute the nitrogen and phosphate.

Otherwise, go for 100% RO and mix salts to get to the required hardness. Nitrogen and phosphate will be completely removed
Thank you, i find it all so confusing! So my GH is 7 and KH is 3, not sure if this is hard?
 
OP
xxamyxx85

xxamyxx85

Fish Crazy
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
249
Reaction score
294
Location
England
I use RO water and use Seachem Equilibrium along with Seachem Aqualine and Acid buffers and that's it. Seems to work well and the parameters have stayed stable, for what it's worth. I was forced into this because I have terrible tap water too. You might consider buying the RO Buddy system which I think is more convenient than buying and lugging the water from somewhere every week.
What is the seachem aqualine for? And I assume the acid buffers are for ph? Thank you for the info.
 

Utar

Fishaholic
Joined
Jun 24, 2020
Messages
678
Reaction score
626
Location
Texas
Sorry to hear your local water is so bad you can't use it for your aquariums. I am lucky that I have really good water and don't have to do anything thing to it. I wished I could help you but others have already given you great advice, so good luck, and hope it all works out for you.
 

trending

Staff online

Most reactions - Past 7 days

Top