problems with hair algae

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

erinbarbour

Reaction score
I am new to fish keeping and aquatic plants. We purchased a fluval flex 15 gallon tank that has been running for about 3 months. There is hair like algae that grows on all the plants, and the plants seem to be a little stunted. The new growth on the plants is green but the older growth is brown and dying from the hair algae. We have 8 neon tetras, 3 guppies, and a nerite snail. I do 30% water changes about every 10 days, have lights on a timer for 7 hours a
day, and use Co-op green as a fertilizer. Any suggestions on how to improve the plant's growth and reduce the algae?
DSC03648.JPGDSC03649.JPGDSC03650.JPGDSC03651.JPG day, and use Co-op green as a fertilizer. Any suggestions on how to improve the plant's growth and reduce the algae?

If you can find away to lift the oxygen content in your tank that will help. Check your temperature the lower the temperature the better. Add more plants, the more heavily planted your tank is the higher the oxygen content. Increase your water changes to weekly and reduce the amount of food the fish are getting. Put an air stone on the tank. These are just a few of the things you can do to help reduce algae.

There is hair like algae that grows on all the plants, and the plants seem to be a little stunted. The new growth on the plants is green but the older growth is brown and dying from the hair algae.