Problem adding new fish

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Pooley1705

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm fairly new to this hobby, it's always something that I fancied getting into so finally took the plunge last year and bought myself a 105Ltr setup. Everything has been fine, tank cycled and stocked with community fish, mainly platies, mollies, tetras and guppies which have been doing fine since day one. In fact the platies have been producing fry none stop so recently set up a small 5 gallon to home them until they were big enough to give away to my LFS (along with the females as couldn't cope with all the fry anymore). So had a bit of a clear out and decided to add some new more interesting fish but don't seem to be having much luck.

First off a couple of BGR's, one got bullied and died after a couple of weeks, the other lasted approx 4 months. Then tried a couple of Dwarf Gourami's (not at the same time), again one lasted only a couple of weeks, the other 3 weeks. So I thought I give it one more try and got a small angel which only lasted 1 week. They all end up eventually hiding, then stop eating then finally die. All my original fish are doing fine but just can't seem to introduce anything new, what am I doing wrong? Am I simply adding the wrong fish to match my PH levels?

NT Labs test kit -
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Ph 7.5

Any help/advice would be much appreciated :)

Attachments

• IMG_2734.jpg
    IMG_2734.jpg
    365.4 KB · Views: 59
Hi,

How’s your tank maintenance? Are you performing partial water changes and how often/how much? Do you add a water conditioner first before adding new water to the tank?