Pregnant Zebra Danios?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Super Dude

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I got 5 zebra danios in a 10 gallon. They are currently all alone, except for a few live plants. I noticed a couple of them are rounder than usual and not moving as much. They aren't flipping around like sick fish, they just seem content to stay in one spot. I got a breeding canister thing that floats on the water and isolates the parents from others. Do you think I should catch them and put them in the breeder? I would like to keep a few offspring and sell the others.

DSC00013.jpg

DSC00018.jpg

DSC00021.jpg

Thanks. :rolleyes:

more likely bloat as danios are egg layers.... They could be gravid females but try feeding them some cooked deshelled pea.

Hi!
I'm a newbie to keeping fish at home but I work in a lab with zebra danios. Looking at the picture, I think the female is full of eggs. However, sometimes zebra danios just don't mate (and hence lay eggs) in large tanks. I think it's because in the wild they tend to breed in shallow waters. We tend to keep them in small tanks overnight (equal male to female ratio or more females) in shallow waters of about 15 centimeters deep and they tend to lay in the morning when the lights come on. I'm not sure what your breeding canister looks like but I'm guessing it's to prevent the parents eating the eggs? It's also nice to put some greenery in the breeding tank so that the female has somewhere to escape if she feels stressed out by over-amorous males. One thing to note is: putting fish into breeding tanks is fairly stressful for them so I'd leave 7 to 10 days before putting them in the breeding cage again if the first time is unsuccessful.