Pregnant guppy

andy216

Reaction score
Hey everyone.

I have a female guppy who looks like she is ready for her second brood. I know its coming soon but i thought someone might have been able to give me a more accurate timeframe. I tried to get a good pic of her but she wouldn't stop moving around so the image is a big poor (sorry).

Her first brood i only managed to save 3 because she suprised me! This time i want to be more prepared. I unfortunately dont have a seperate tank for the fry so i need to get an idea of when i could put her into a breeding trap, i dont want to do it too early. Also...is it ok to put newborn fry in with 1 month old fry in the breeding trap? I think i am going to run out of room in there anyway!!

Thanks for advice

click here for pics

well im no expert on guppys i would say maybee within the week. as for the post thing its blue to me its prolly red to you because you posted it and i have no idea what the red dot would be the only red dot ive seen is the locked simbol and i havent seen one of those in a while.

edit for those of you who wonder about the guppy
post-22-1055764734.jpg

looks like she will drop any time now i would say. How long ago is it since she had her 1st brood? usually takes 28 days.

I recommend a mesh breeding net for the fry, make sure you put alot of floating plants so that the fry have somewhere to hide when she pops them out.

I usually find that my guppies go abit squarish rather than round when you look at her from the front or behind 24 hours before they drop them. (personal experience) but doesn't always happen, i did a check on my tank a week ago at midnight as i had a late one and to my surprise the 3 mums to be had given birth and the gravel was littered with babies, i then spent an hour rounding them all up!!!! I eventually went to bed at 1.30am!!!