platty care

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

lovemyplatties

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm totally new to this fish world...I have been looking for a nice forum where I could actually read people's experiences...find this forum/site the best.

My question is pretty general...what do platties need in order to survive? I have a one gallon fish bowl w/ two mickey mouse platties...male and female. There were three before two females, one male. After about two weeks the female died; I read somewhere that i could isolate the female when it's about to give birth. Isolation, from my experience, was a bad idea...she died :(

I am not sure thought if either or both female platties gave birth...I now have 11 fry fishies. I found a small fish bowl at a garage sale...so they'll be there for awhile.

So...my questions really are: What can I do to keep my older platties happy? I feed them tetramin thrice a day...the fish bowl has airstones (tiny one) in it. Is there a site that I could check out that'll have pictures of what a healthy platty looks like...and a site that'll tell me what kind of diseases they can get...with pictures? Last but not the least, i read somewhere that I had to separate the fry from the older platties in order for the fry to survive, otherwise they'll get eaten. I'm not sure if I should follow that advice since the same site's advise killed my other platty (I isolated the pregnant female from the rest).

Everyone's input is gladly appreciated :nod:

A bowl is not acceptable for a platy. Your female most likely died of bad water quality. The nastiness builds up VERY quickly in small bowls or tanks -- especially ones without filtration. A platy NEEDS atleast, a 5 gallon tank, to live. If you cant do that, and can only have a bowl, then a betta is more for you. :nod: They are very prettiful fish too.