Platies And Neon Tetras...a Good Mix ?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Rich_77

Reaction score
Hi

I'm pretty new to all of this, but loving the advice a few of you have given me so far.

Much more useful than some of the people that actually work in LFS' or chain retailers !

I'm cycling a 64L tank and eventually (maybe this weekend or next) want to put in two female platy's and a male. I understand from the boards that this means a lot of fry. But I am interested in possibly breeding....even though I'm still new :) (And the females might eat all of the fry).

I was just wondering, I always wanted Neon Tetra in a tank since I was a kid....will Platies and tetras get on ok ?

I was told by the LFS I could have Guppies, Platy's and Tetra's in a tank, no prob (when I bought a 20L tank !) but wondering if they will mix...especially seeing as I want to put them in my 64L tank.

Many Thanks in advance.

Yea the will be fine. Guppies are a little shoot about everywhere and eat everything. But all quite harmless to each other. Though I adore Cardinal Tetra's, Guppies look nice but a bit too "toyish" and platy's are too much like goldfish. All to own taste, but yes that won't be much of a problem.

Yea the will be fine. Guppies are a little shoot about everywhere and eat everything. But all quite harmless to each other. Though I adore Cardinal Tetra's, Guppies look nice but a bit too "toyish" and platy's are too much like goldfish. All to own taste, but yes that won't be much of a problem.

Cheers for the reply....if you were in my position, 64L to fill....what would you go for ? (I have the male platy, so feel a bit bad if I leave him in the 20L tank by himself) :)