Plant Substrate

Jamepsss

Fish Addict
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
752
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester
Hi everyone

Having just moved house I'm ready to make a start on rebuilding my tank. I'm looking for something different having used aquabasis and argos sand before. It needs to be...

- Not too expensive

- Cleanable like sand, not gravel

- Dark colour

- Not going to blow around in strong flow

- No initial ammonia release

All I can come up with so far is using aquabasis again but with a darker sand on top. Considered using some sort of organic soil but don't much about it and ideally I'd like a single substrate that doesn't need capping.

Any ideas?
 

drobbyb

Bowhead
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
3,251
Reaction score
0
Location
Easley, South Carolina USA
Eco complete comes in black, and is relatively inexpensive depending on the size tank.

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=eco+complete&hl=en&prmd=ivnsfd&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1440&bih=762&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=2012873950372292836&sa=X&ei=7ZLtTaiMBceWtwfxpPTgBQ&ved=0CG8Q8wIwAg
 
OP
Jamepsss

Jamepsss

Fish Addict
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
752
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester
Eco complete comes in black, and is relatively inexpensive depending on the size tank.

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=eco+complete&hl=en&prmd=ivnsfd&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1440&bih=762&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=2012873950372292836&sa=X&ei=7ZLtTaiMBceWtwfxpPTgBQ&ved=0CG8Q8wIwAg

Cheers Drobby, been reading up on it and looks ideal.
 

Saltcod

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
75
Reaction score
0
Location
Hampshire
Is Eco complete suitable for corys or is it too rough for their barbels does anyone know?
 

trending

Staff online

Members online

Top