What substrate is best for a planted tank?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Redfish_

Reaction score
Hi there,
This is my first time on this forum - I'm a relative beginner.
I'm hoping to get a 40 gallon tank and would like to plant it heavily. Since im a beginner I would like to avoid C02 injections if possible and stick to liquid. I was curious what substrate/root tabs combo would be best.
I've attempted aqua soil once in a heavily planted 5 gallon, and it cased horrible string algae outbreaks - that tank has since been dismantled, as I couldn't resolve the issue, and I'm a bit reluctant to try again, as its so expensive and I don't want to have to deal with severe algae. I've had good luck in my 10 gallon with sand and root tabs/liquid fertilizers, but that doesn't have many heavy root feeders (java moss, wisteria, bacopa, duckweed, anubias and a few other odds and ends). The aim for this tank would be an upgrade for my dwarf rasboras and pygmy corydoras, so I can have some bigger schools, and more shrimp. The tank would be low light, low current, and I would stick to plants that can cope with this (suggestions for plants?).
Did I do something wrong when I tried aquasoil? What substrate would be best?
Thank you!

Hello, welcome to the forum!
In my opinion the best substrate is the one that suits your fish best. Since you have pygmy corydoras then you need to keep them on a sand substrate. For a lot of bottom dwellers and corys in particular, a soft sand substrate is non-negotiable.

So what I would do, is get a good quality root tab (seachem are my favourite, but I've heard good things about API) and combine those with a fine play sand.
Play sand will need a really good wash in clean water, but the money you'll save instead of using "decorative aquarium sand" is well worth it.