Paroon Shark (Sick) Help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Tansterr

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi ! I am new to this forum ><. Im not an expert in fishes. currently i am very worried about my paroon shark dying because ever since I have treated them with the medication to cure Ich on them, they started to have red streaks appearing on their pelvic fins (correct me if I am wrong) which is their fin at the bottom part of their body, the one with the black tips. Are they sick? Or infected with something? Because I'm still treating them with the cure for Ich medication and they seem fine. Just that their bottom part of the fins are showing some red streaks. :( the medication I used to cure the Ich says that it Is harmful to all fishes so I am not really suspecting that it is the medication fault, however last time I've kept a pagasius catfish and after I've used the same medication to cure the Ich it has gotten red streaks on it, after awhile it died. So I'm really scared that my paroon shark dies as well :(.
I meant not harmful to all fishes** ><

Can you provide a name for the medication you are using?
Also:
What size is the tank? Dimensions and volume.
How long has it been running for?
How long has the Paroon Shark been in there?
Is it filtered?
Did you cycle the filter at all before you added the shark?

I noticed you are from Singapore, so things can be quite different in the world of Aquaria as it is over this way.
The more information you can give the better.

The first thing that would come to mind is Ammonia poisoning - would you be able to post a picture of the tank/fish also?
Is there any rapid breathing coming from the gills?
Are the gills red?
What is the behaviour like?

Also do you know what type of Paroon Shark it is? Are you aware that most get to about 160cm in size? :S
The Paroon Shark is part of the sub species of Pangasius but there are many different types as far as I've read.

Hi!!