Nitrate = 0, Ammonia = 0, Nitrite = 0.25 And Climbing

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

garycooper34

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Quick question I need some help on.

My tank is 30 days old now and I did a fish-in cycle (not many fish). Ammonia has been zero for 1.5-2 weeks, nitrates have fallen to 0 in the last few days but nitrite continues to climb until I do a partial water change. Usually it gets to 0.25 then I will do a change.

Is there any particular reason for this?

Ammonia turns into nitrite and nitrite turns into nitrate. So if you mean that nitrate is continues to climb then you just have to keep doing water changes till it stabilizes then you can back off to doing them once every two weeks. Keep in mind that I am a newbie myself so I'm sure. The more experienced guys on here will be able to help more. I just know that when I did my fish in cycle it took about 6 weeks or so for everything to go well and I was able to put more fish in. What kind of fish did you start with?

The above is correct...  You may have your nitrite and nitrate confused.  Or, you may still be in the nitrite spike of the cycling process.

Hi,

I definitely mean nitrAte = 0 and NitrIte = 0.25.

As nitrate is 0 now, and ammonia has been 0 for quite some time, I'm concerned why nitrite is still trying to spike.

My water levels have gone as below:

fishtank.jpg

The bacteria that convert ammonia to nitrite have grown enough to deal with what is being produced, but the bacteria that convert nitrIte to nitrAte are still growing. Just keep doing what you're doing.

Yeah, you want to have your ammonia and nitrite at 0 for about a week before you deem your tank as cycled.

Just continue with the regular water changes and keep checking your parameters to ensure you're keeping your nitrites low :)