Newbie Wth No Idea :-)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Emz85

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I am new to aquarium keeping and very excited, although did not realise it was quite so complicated, before doing my research I was one of these who thought I could fill my tank with some water, put a few pretty things in and then add some pretty looking fih who would live together happily ever after..............haha

So, Ive had my aquarium for 3 days, it has been filled up with water, have put the gravel in and a couple of (washed) ornaments. I have not yet introduced any fish as I want to do this properly, I don't want fish dying on me unnecessarily. Tomorrow, I think I am going to go and buy a couple of live plants to put in. Do you think it is ok to do this now? When do you think it will be ok to add some fish? I was thinking a couple of zebra danios to start with? I have heard lots of contrasting advice from pet shops/facebook groups so thought I would join a proper fish forum.

Do you advise I get my own water testing kit? The pet shop says they can test my water but I wasn't sure if it would be better for me to have my own? Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Emma

PS.......My aquarium is 140litres, not sure if this will make much difference to advice :)

The loudest advice you will get from this forum right now is to do a fishless cycle.

Cycling is the process of growing bacteria in the filter to process the ammonia that the fish produce, through nitrite to nitrate. TO do this without fish, you need to use bottled household ammonia. READ THIS. It is probably the most important aquatic document you will ever read.

And yes, I do recommend getting your own test kit. Get a liquid one, not the paper strip ones.

And lastly:-

welcomeani.gif

As the Lock man says (btw this is my first post) FISHLESS CYCLE... I'm in the middle of my first "FISHLESS CYCLE"..

Patientce is certainly a virtue..