Newbie To Aquariums: Am I Missing Anything?

daffodille

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! Get ready for a wall of text and a fair few questions.

I am in my final year of college, and keeping a fish as a pet is kind of a tradition here. So last January, armed with good intentions and very little knowledge, I picked up a little red betta I named Jarvis. For the last nine months he's been living in a one gallon jar with a ball of moss. He received a 50% water change every other day with treated water and has always been fed twice a day. So he's been surviving but not exactly thriving. 

A few days ago my boyfriend surprised my by telling me he'll be getting me a fishtank for my birthday this year and asked me to go ahead and pick one out. After reading tons of reviews and watching dozens of youtube videos, I have settled on the Fluval Spec V, an attractive 5 gallon model. I have compiled a check list of all the things I think I'll need, and was hoping you guys might be able to tell me if I've left anything important out.

*25 watt heater (Leaning towards Hydor brand, as it had the best reviews. Any other suggestions?)
*Thermometer
*API water testing kit (This is the kit people mention most. I want to do this right.)
*Fungal and bacterial meds (recommend any brands?)
*Betta Hammock
*Gravel siphon?? 

***Substrate
I have read everything I could find about sand vs. gravel and I'm so lost at this point. I would like to have a planted tank, starting with some pretty low maintenance greens until I figure out what I'm doing. (Java fern, micro sword, anacharis.) What sort of substrate ought I get for those? I've read good things about Caribsea's substrate; would a gravel siphon work on that?

As you can see I have a lot of questions. If you can answer any of them or refer me to other sources I would really appreciate it. Thanks so much!