April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

CraiginWales

Reaction score
Hi Guys.
I'm currently cycling a 5ft 120G tank for a New World semi-aggressive tank.
I have no experience in American Cichlids & Im really stuck for stocking ideas.
Aquascape will be sand, bogwood, rocks, caves & fixed fake plants.
Have decided on a Severum & Electric Blue Jack Dempsey or/and Acaras. As for anything else I'm stuck! Would like a pleco', some shoaling fish, maybe some cats.
Help please! My background is in Africans & Im a bit overwhelmed. If this was your tank what would you have? Many thanks

I would do a school of large tetras or rainbows. Maybe even swordtails.

I would do a school of large tetras or rainbows. Maybe even swordtails.
Tetras had never occurred to me, thanks for that. I'm really stuck for a Pleco. I find a really beautiful looking one & then find that it's too small or not suited in some way. Any suggestions? Thanks

I keep Columbian tetras with my cichlids. I don't know much about plecos. I feel like their bio load outweighs any advantages but pretty much any pleco should be ok. The common pleco gets big so I would skip it.

Hi Craig!

First, what are your water parameters? There are different cichlids with different requirements. Roughly one can divide them in two groups: 1) the south american "rainforest"-cichlids (e.g. Severum and Acara), which need soft water and can be combined with many tetras and cat fish and 2) the central american cichlids (e.g. Jack Dempsey), which need harder water, are more aggressive and are usually combined with swordtails, if at all.

So first you should find out what kind of water you can offer.

Aaah! Thank you!
I'm currently cycling but tap water is slightly acidic, about 6.5 & soft. I was under the impression that was ideal for all American setups.