new to the hobby, my betta fish keep dying

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

puprrgard

Reaction score
hello all, i'm relatively new to the fish keeping hobby and this is my first time on a forum site.

i really love betta fish, but i can't seem to keep any alive for more than six months. they always end up with dropsy, and before i realize it, pass away. my most recent betta was a crowntail, and i noticed he was getting constipated quite often, so i fed him every other day with less pellets as well as using the pea method. he got better, and then got constipated again, and then before i realized he had dropsy, he pineconed and passed as soon as i treated the tank with salt and a dosage of seachem.

my other bettas just get very lethargic before getting dropsy. i'm not sure what to do at this point; i've watched so many videos and read so many posts to try and fix the problem. here are some of my tank specs:

i have a 5 gallon with sand substrate. my filter is the Aqueon Submersible Internal QuietFlow Model AT10. i put a sponge where the water flows out to decrease the flow since i realized it was too strong for my bettas. i keep a heater inside that is set to a constant of ~80, and a thermometer which tells me the temperature. i live in a hotter area, so i make sure to monitor the temperature. i keep the overhead light off most of the time, since i know bettas prefer the flourescents to be off.

i treat the new water every time i clean with API tap water conditioner, and do a 30% water change monthly. i have the API test kit as well, and i know i don't check the water often enough, so that may be part of my issue. everytime i do put a fish in the tank, though, i make sure the water is stable and ready for the fish.

i feed my fish a mix of freeze-dried blood worms, fuval bug bites, betta bio-gold, and frozen brine shrimp. the fuval bug bites are my main go-to. i don't feed on sundays.