New Aquarium -Need Help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

DiNew

Reaction score
Hello,

I bought a tropical fish care book and got advice from the LFS, then read about cycling on this forum and could use some help. I am brand new to fish.

I have a 10 gallon tank recently (in last four and five days) stocked with 4 neon tetras and 4 platys and moss ball plant. I read on this forum about cycling and tested my water tonight using the API freshwater test kit. I got pH of 7.5, ammonia of 2, nitrite of 1, and nitrate of 20.

I have read about doing a water change of about 20%. Do I use the vacuum (siphon hose) and how do I make sure I do not over do it? The store told me not to do anything with the tank for a month, so I am confused, but trying to do the right thing.

Thank you.

I meant four neon danios. Sorry!

have you cycled your filter? never take advice from fish stores, most of it is bad. also your tank is overstocked. i have also never heard of neon danios, unless they are those glofish.

Thanks for the reply. No, I have not cycled my filter. Yes, they are glofish.

ok well your LFS is wrong, you should be doing a 90% water change on that tank to make sure the fish dont die, you'v read about cyceling ammonia will kill your fish in a short time, you need to grow the bacteria in your filter. id be doing a 50% water change every day or every 2 days for afew weeks until your ammonia and nitrites both read 0 and then you should be doing weekly water changes of 20%

The important thing here is to keep your ammonia level at zero at all times. Ammonia even in very small quantities is toxic to fish.

As you are 'fish in cycling' at the moment you need to be prepared to do very large water changes (maybe up to 90%) in order to achieve zero ammonia, possibly even more than once a day.