Need advice on light management for my aquarium.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Helder

Reaction score
Hi all! I am new to the world of fish keeping. I have a 35 gallon tank, with black widow tetras, gold tetras, cardinals and I have introduced 2 clown loaches just today. Every thing seems to be going well, but I am unsure on how I should run my lights. I have 2 x 3W LEDs, one on each side of my tank, which offers pretty good lighting for the whole tank. I have been running these lights on all day and I also keep them on through the night, as they are very energy efficient. They have 3 light settings: 1 is the brightest, with all white and blue LEDs on, 2 is medium, which switches off the blue LEDs and 3, which is just the blue LED's. Setting number 3 makes the tank quite dark, which makes the fish a lot more active, (stress or excitement??), so I generally keep them on setting 1.
Should I keep the lights on all the time, or is it recommended the lights be switched off during certain intervals of the day? I have run the tank with the lights on for nearly a year, but I was wondering if I am doing the right thing...
Any help and advice is much appreciated!

Regards
Helder

I have been running these lights on all day and I also keep them on through the night, as they are very energy efficient.
Depends, on if growing plants or if your getting algae. But 24 hours on, is far too long. It’s best to turn off your aquarium lights at night so the fish can rest. Most of my tanks are planted and I have found 4 hours on 2 hours off and 4 hours on then off the remaining time. I use mechanical timers which can be picked up for around $5.

Good Luck!