Need advice on goldfish and tetra tanks

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

kaionfireandice

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the hobby. I just won two comet goldfish at the carnival without knowing what that meant. I've done a lot of research, and while one of the fish died a few days after getting them, the other appears to be fine. However, the remaining goldfish and a pleco are currently sharing a 10-gallon tank, which I know is not even close to big enough for them.

A friend of mine offered to give me her 45-gallon tank (48" x 12" x 18" I think), which isn't perfect, but it's an improvement until I can afford a larger tank. However, the tank comes with her 6 Buenos Aires tetras (~3" each). I don't know what to do about it.

I was thinking that I could keep the tetras in the 10-gallon for now and buy a 20-gallon tank or transfer them back to the 45-gallon when I can. I could sell the 10-gallon to help pay for the larger tanks, but I've gotten conflicting advice over what size I should get for goldfish.

Is it safe to keep them in the 10-gallon tank, at least until I can get a bigger tank? Should I just decline the offer and buy a bigger tank for the goldfish when I can? What sizes will I need for 6 BA tetras in one tank and 2 comet goldfish and a pleco in the other?

Thank you.

First, goldfish and tropicals cannot be combined, as they have very different requirements in temperature primarily and neither will thrive with any sort of middle road. Comet goldfish also get large and need space; this article by one of our members suggests a 5-foot tank.
http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/417799-goldfish-for-beginners/
Unless you have definite plans for at least a 4-foot tank, I would re-home the goldfish...a local fish store might take it (free presumably).