My Fluval Edge

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

AliveJoker

Reaction score
Hi
I'm new to fish keeping and decided to go with the fluval edge 6 gallon fishtank. As soon as i see the tank in my local Aquarium, i had to buy it straight away (STUNNING). I went for the tropical set up and have 6 fish. They are 2 Mollies (both male), 2 guppies (both male), 1 betta (male) and a sailfin plec. All seem to be doing just fine 3 months on. i feed them 3-4 times a week with various types of food from flake, frozen and live. Although my sailfin plec does love the occassional slice of cucumber.
Decoration inside i went for plastic plants (keeps the tank very easy to maintain), some rock and drift wood with a piece of fossel.
I would really like to get a moonlit effect but have no ideas,(so any info would be greatly appreciated).
Thanks for your time.

Well, I'll go first, as I'm sure once it's noticed, you'll get flamed by everyone.

The Edge tank is far too small for your stock. The Sailfin can grow bigger than your actual tank for a start.

Well, I'll go first, as I'm sure once it's noticed, you'll get flamed by everyone.

The Edge tank is far too small for your stock. The Sailfin can grow bigger than your actual tank for a start.

Thanks for the reply, my Sailfin plec is only just under 2 inches at the moment, How long will it take to out grow the tank? I was thinking of taking him out once he got to about 5 inches. He seems very happy at the moment though. what stock would you say is ideal?

I would rehome all the fish and start your stocking again. A Sailfin can easily reach 18" and ideally needs a 5ft tank minimum, although 6ft is better.
To be honest, you shouldn't have been sold any of those fish for that tank, I personally don't think any of them are suitable.
Consider looking at some of the following:

Boraras maculatus
Boraras brigittae
Boraras merah
Ember Tetra
Pygmy Corydoras

Oh dear oh dear :no: