My first fish tank

elephantnose3334

Fishaholic
Reaction score
This is my first fish tank (i'm a beginner who accidentally overcrowded the tank of fish). I used a Petworx Nano 45 40 litre tank for the setup. Includes fake plants and a barrel as a hiding place. The livestock are a dwarf gourami and 6 silvertip and cardinal tetras each. Brought the silvertips first from my local Petbarn then the rest from Vebas. When aggression broke out from the silvertips against the cardinals, I had to add in a dwarf gourami to stop the aggression. He is the bigger fish after all. It mostly worked, but the aggression may happen occasionally between the silvertips and cardinal tetras. I will improve my fishkeeping skills when I add my future second fish tank in the same cabinet as the first one.

Attachments

• IMG_0665.jpg
    IMG_0665.jpg
    329.8 KB · Views: 1,263
The aggression is from insufficient numbers and a small tank. It would be less likely to occur in a bigger tank and if you had more of each tetra (10 minimum per species).

If you don't have any live plants in the tank, just have the light on for a few hours in the afternoon/ evening otherwise you will get lots of algae. Some floating plants like Water Sprite (Ceratopteris thalictroides/ cornuta) will provide shade and shelter for the gourami and tetras and encourage them to show better colours. The floating plants will also reduce algae and help keep the water cleaner.

The aggression is from insufficient numbers and a small tank. It would be less likely to occur in a bigger tank and if you had more of each tetra (10 minimum per species).

If you don't have any live plants in the tank, just have the light on for a few hours in the afternoon/ evening otherwise Some floating plants like Water Sprite (Ceratopteris thalictroides/ cornuta) will provide shade and shelter for the gourami and tetras and encourage them to show better colours.