My Cory’s gills are looking a bit pink and I’m afraid the betta may be picking on him.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Jingleballs

Reaction score
image.jpg
I’m relatively new to owning fish. I’ve done lots of research and I asked the people at my local pet store about what fish are suitable to live with a betta in a 10 gallon. I got one cory as was recommended for my tank size, three baby African dwarf frogs, four or five ghost shrimp, and one male betta. A few days ago I noticed that my Cory was looking pink around the gills but I’m not super familiar with this type of Cory and it’s coloration so I’ve been waiting and observing the behaviors of my fish. The betta seemed to be really chill and doesn’t even bother with the frogs or shrimp but today, I think I saw the betta flare up and start nipping at the Cory. It was quick so I’m not entirely certain but I’ve owned a betta before and I know what it looks like when they’re in a fighting mood and that’s what it looked like. I’m also not certain whether or not the betta was looking for food or if it was actually biting the Cory, it was a quick encounter. Now I’m observing the Cory in its own small and enclosure and upon further inspection it seems like it could be missing scales. I’ve googled possible causes but I couldn’t seem to find anything helpful.

Please excuse my lack of punctuation, I’m worried for my Cory and in a hurry.

If you’ve experienced anything like this before I would greatly appreciate some input. I would be so sad if my Cory was being bullied and I did nothing to stop it.

I don't guess when it comes to disease issues, but here I would say that bullying by the betta is not likely the cause. Other members like @Colin_T or @DoubleDutch can more accurately deal with the red gill issue.