Measurements for a newbie

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Cuileann

Reaction score
I am very new to the hobby and we have bought the Tetra 105l starter kit. We plan to cycle it and move the fish we rescued into it. (they were going to get flushed down the toilet) It advertises as 105l. (H48cm, W76cm, D37cm)

I used a calculator here and with the measurements it says it holds 135l not 105l. I know when adding things like water conditioner or treatments, you have to be accurate.

Can anyone help? And when using most treatments it is in gallons not litres but never specifies US or Imperial.

What gallons would you recommend I use?

Thank you so much in advance. I hope this is the right place to ask these kind of things. If not, I apologise.
2989FCD9-4464-4728-83D1-C0687A66C96C.jpegF180B794-FB61-4782-8E95-02642BD5EA26.jpeg

B85A56A7-6328-4BAF-8ED9-27189D44995B.jpeg

...And then you've got the volume taken up by substrate, rocks, wood, etc..

I suggest you do what I did when first filling the tank;
I placed the substrate, rocks and wood in and then added water from an 8 litre bucket.
I filled the tank to halfway-ish and made a note of how many buckets I'd used.
At that point, I added the plants and then continued to fill the tank.
By the end of it, I knew that my tank held 101 litres.

The Gallon/Imperial Gallon thing is one to watch out for, especially as there's a significant difference and difference measurements are favoured in different forums. For this reason, I use litres and litres only.

Usually the actually capacity is less than that advertised because of what you say.

If I had to guess in this case though, I think the person doing the write-up for the online seller made a booboo and wrote 48cm height instead of 40cm.

...And then you've got the volume taken up by substrate, rocks, wood, etc..

I suggest you do what I did when first filling the tank;