Maximum Fish In Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SarahMarie

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I've recently bought a 64litre 'fish box' aquarium which I'm cycling at the moment with 2 platys, a male and a female. I'm just wondering what other fish I could have in with the platys, and what's the most I could have in the tank. I'm planning on getting a second female platy once the tank has cycled. I'd like a few more colourful fish without overstocking the tank. I'm totally new to fish-keeping. HELP!
Any advice would be really appreciated!

I personally wouldn't add any more fish, because you have a male and female platy and they will breed easily and you'll end up with lots of fry.

Imo, 2 is too many for a fish-in cycle a tank that size. You are in for many daily water changes. Can you return one? It will make it easier but still no snap. You also need test kits for ammonia and nitrite. You will need to know your tank water pH as well.

I strongly urge you to go here and then click on "Your First Aquarium" read as much as you can. It is not perfect but it is pretty good. It is comprehensive, easy to understand and all in one place. I used it many years ago and still find it to be one of the better ones out there for beginners.

http://fins.actwin.com/aquariafaq.html

Thanks for your help! I feel a bit better now.
The man in the shop I went to (which has had excellent reviews) reccommended the two fish, so I assumed that would be ok. I'm also getting my water tested every few days at the shop. Last time I went the ammonia was quite high but since then I've added a live bacteria to the tank and it seems to have helped. I'm doing a 25% water change every couple of days too. The ph has always been fine each time I've checked. Should I do more or less water changes?

Sickbound said:
http://aqadvisor.com/

This website is a great help. You can use it to figure out what you can have in your tank.