List of easy plants

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Meg0000

Fish Addict
Reaction score
Hi I started a list of easy plants (no co2 and low to medium light) to know what I should buy when I go to my LFS. It would be nice if we could add plants to this list or remove some based on your experience with it. I will edit this post to add plants or remove it from the list.. I am sure it could also help other people so here is the list:
-cryptocoryne
-vallisneria
-anubias
-Microsorum
-Echinodorus
-Java moss, spiky moss
-Limnophila sessiliflora
-Hottonia palustris
- Hygrophila
- staurogyne repens
-ludwigia repens
- rotala rotundifolia
-Hydroctyle leucocephala
-crinum
-marimo moss ball
-anacharis
-water sprite
-sagittaria sabulata
-bolbitis heudelotii
-Marsilea Hirsuta
-Ceratophyllum demersum
-floating plants
-bucephalandra
-Homalomena Sekadau South

Last edited:
I highly recommend anacharis and water sprite. I’m new to the planted aquarium scene, but thanks to some great advice from members on here, I bought two of each and they look great!

Sagittaria subulata, Marsilea hirsuta, Ceratophyllum demersum, floating plants, Bucephalandra, Homalomena Sekadau South, and Bolbitis are other easy plants that are not on the list.

Last edited:
Ive tried growing saggitaria sublata as an " easy" carpeting plant as well as sturogyne repens and they both died and i have medium light but what i didnt have that both those need is 30PAR at the substrate and a heavily fertlized substrate.
Carpeting plants like sag sublata need more than low light and i wouldnt put on easy imho.

-cryptocoryne - hard to grow long term. Don't tolerate root disturbances and the rhizome often rots if damaged.
-vallisneria - avoid giant vallis, and keep the pH above 7.0 otherwise you are wasting your time.
-anubias - marsh/ garden plant, not suited to aquariums if you want it to grow normally.