Is It Possible To Cycle A Small Tank Without A Filter?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

AlitaConejita

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm betting the answer is 'no' but asking anyway :)

Is it possible to cycle a tank that doesn't have a filter? I have a 2 gallon tank with 1 beta in it, 2 fake plants, and aquarium gravel. I don't have a tank filtration system for this little tank.

Is it possible to "cycle" this way? (I am a total newbie so sorry if this is an extremely dumb question)

Idk but i do have concerns about your betta, unless your doing water changes evry other day you nned afilter and no matter what you need a heater.

also a tank that size is really unsuitable for a betta

If there is no water movement to facilitate oxygen exchange it will be a problem with cycling. It will likely be a problem long term as a home for the betta. It can survive but wont thrive.

Doing a fish in cycle is not simple, it is not a good way for new fishkeepers to go. You will need to learn about NH3 and NH4 and how to calculate them from your test kit ammonia reading . You will need to learn how to combat nitrite as well until cycled. You may need to learn how to do diluted testing as well.

The least appealing alternative in fish in cycling is big frequent water changes. There are better ways, but you need to learn the things mentioned above to pull it off.

And yest the fish likely needs a heater in there as well.

Hello and 
welcomeani.gif
 to TFF

First off I would recommend you have a good read through the beginners section to familiarize yourself with the basics of fish keeping. You will learn a lot in a short space of time by just reading through a few of the threads contained in that section. 

When you talk about cycling a tank you are not actually cycling the tank but you are cycling the filter that is running on the tank. As you have no filter on your tank there is nothing to cycle 
good.gif