Is ceramic okay to put in the aquarium?

šŸ  May TOTM Voting is Live! šŸ 
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
šŸ† Click here to Vote! šŸ†

10 years later I found this thread (google)!! I wanted to clear some things up for everyone. I'm a ceramic and glass artist who happens to keep fish.Ā 
Ā 
Slip is what you call clay that has a lot of water added to it. It's slippery and usually used to alter the clay piece your are working on in some way. It is not the the name for unfired ceramics--clay.
"AĀ slipĀ is a suspension in water of clay and/or other materials used in the production ofĀ ceramicĀ ware." Wikipedia
Ā 
Food safe ceramics isĀ usuallyĀ glazed. Clay is porous and will soak up liquids. This is why we fire a coating of glaze (silica with metals and other minerals) to create a mostly impermeable surface. Glaze is glass fused over the ceramic. NOT ALL Glazes are food safe. In ceramics, we use a firing technique called Raku which doesn't bring the piece up to as hot of a temperature. Raku traps carbon in the clay and the glaze during a reduction process along with many other potentially toxic chemicals/metals. This kind of firing doesn't vitrify the clay and theseĀ ceramic pieces are not safe for food or the aquarium.Ā Vitrified clay is far less porous than normal clay.Ā The glaze on raku pieces is also likely to leach.Ā 
Ā 
Porcelain and pure clays that have less impurities can actually be impermeable without glaze. Example: porcelain you can see through and is unglazed that is food safe. Ā Most functional pottery ware is food safe as they are fired in Cone 6 or 10 with food safe glazes (safe metals and chemicals in the glaze) or use a food safe clay without glaze. I would avoid using ceramics withĀ matte glazes, unless you are certain it is food safe, in the aquarium.
Ā