Hi Guys

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Pistol

Reaction score
Hi every one , I am new to the forum . I have been keeping Fish both salt and fresh Water for 20 years now. I live in Ontario Canada and have a 75 gallon fresh water tropical tank. I have small dwarf chiclids and tetras in my tank.My tank is 3 months running .In my tank there were 55 fish ,My filter is a Ehiem Canaster filter along with a hagen C4 filter. My temperature is at 79 degrees. I do 1/3 water changes every two weeks. My water quality is excellent at all levels.

This is the situation....my heater malfunctioned about a week ago and the temperature in my tank dropped to 72 degrees. Unfortunately it was late at night and I did not have a replacement heater. I therefore had to remove some water and then add warm water until I was able to bring the temp up to 79 degrees. Through the night the temp had again dropped to 72 degrees. It took me about 8 hours to have a new heater installed. The temp may have dropped even further by that point. The next day I noticed a couple of fish had spots (ick). The following day I purchased the medication (ickX) and added it to the tank. It has been 4 days of treatment and I have lost a total of 32 fish. The first day I lost 15 and they have slowly been dying off each day. I don't see any more ick on the fish at this time and still I lost 4 today.

Any thoughts of what might be going on?

My initial thoughts would be stress/shock, one way or the other. I assume you know what you're doing after keeping fish for 20 years so all I can think of, since your water seems fine (apart from the temp) is that large temp fluctuations have exacerbated a problem that may have been there to begin with but not presented very quickly.