Help needed

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Joolsajones

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to tropical fish owning, long story short I wasnā€™t given correct info by my local aquatics store, and told to not read forums!

I only had the tank set up and running a week before adding fish.

I have bought a test kit and itā€™s high in ammonia. Iā€™ve bought Seachem and have done a 10lt water change to try and bring it down while it cycles.

I have 6 neon tetras and 5 are eating and growing, 1 isnā€™t interested in food even though theyā€™re in the middle of the feed! Why?!

If ammonia is still at a dangerous level then the fish could be experiencing ammonia stress or poisoning.

Signs of ammonia stress are :
  • Lethargy
  • Loss of appetite
  • Hovering at the bottom of the tank (especially for surface dwelling fish)
  • Gasping at the surface
  • Inflamed gills
  • Red streaks or inflammation in the fins
Keep doing regular water changes to take out the excess ammonia until the cycle has finished and the bacteria can deal with the bio load

Hi, I am new to tropical fish owning, long story short I wasnā€™t given correct info by my local aquatics store, and told to not read forums!

They actually told you at your lfs not read forums......What! That's just wrong.

Take others advice here because they know what they are doing.
I have only found maybe one lfs that did know something about what they where doing and that is among the many I have visited over the years.

Since you have fish in the tank, you will be doing a fish in cycle.

Reduce feeding to 2-3 times a week. Don't worry, the fish won't starve. Unlike mammals that use most of the food they eat to keep warm, most fish take their body temperature from the surrounding water. this means they don't need to eat to stay warm and any food they do consume is used for moving and growing.