Help is my tetra sick?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

KyleC

Reaction score
One of my tetras looks like something is covering the blue stripe. The fin on the back of the fish on the lower half looks slightly jagged, im new to fish keeping as well. Is there anything i could do? should i remove the fish from the tank?
sicky.PNG

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

It's either neon disease (bacterial infection) or fungus. I need a clearer picture but I am going with neon disease.

How long have you had the fish for?
How long has the tank been set up for?

Have you tested the water quality for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate & pH?
If yes, what were the results in numbers?

------------------------
If you have only had the fish for a day or two then it is probably neon disease and needs treating with anti-biotics. You should also inform the pet shop where you got them from. They should credit you for a few replacement fish.

Keep photos of the sick fish and if any die, put them in a plastic bag and freeze them. If the shops wants proof of death, then take pictures and bodies in to them.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

It's either neon disease (bacterial infection) or fungus. I need a clearer picture but I am going with neon disease.

How long have you had the fish for?
How long has the tank been set up for?

Have you tested the water quality for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate & pH?
If yes, what were the results in numbers?

------------------------
If you have only had the fish for a day or two then it is probably neon disease and needs treating with anti-biotics. You should also inform the pet shop where you got them from. They should credit you for a few replacement fish.

Keep photos of the sick fish and if any die, put them in a plastic bag and freeze them. If the shops wants proof of death, then take pictures and bodies in to them.