Help, I'm A Newbie

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

drsoda007

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi,

Can you please give me any fish that will go with Lyretail Mollies!

Have asked an aquarium super store lady and she said "Mollies are agresive, and hard to look after."

Is this true, what fish should I get, please Help.

Thank you so much, I apprieciate it alot!

I have had the odd molly that was aggressive but 99% of community peaceful fish. They do get racey when you drop the food in but thats because they are gannets! I have some in a community tank with gouramis,cherry barbs,pentazona barbs, its all in my profile. I still breed a few mollies and wouldnt say they were an aggressive fish. (To see my profile, left click on my name and click on view member profile-my tanks are at the bottom of the page)

Mollies can be kept with many if not most fish from about 1 1/2 inches long to about 3 or 4 inches. After 3 or 4 inches some of the other fish may cause problems for the mollies if they are aggressive. My rainbow cichlids at about 5 inches are fine with them but that's a bit unusual for a fish that big. If you are trying to breed and keep fry it wll limit who can go in with them. Many fish are much more likely to hunt down and eat fry than the mollies but mollies will do it too. Having fry survive in a community tank is something that I seldom see happen because most fish will eat live fish that are small enough.

If this aquarium store lady was the same one who told you to fishless cycle by setting up the tank and doing nothing to it for a fortnight, haven't you seen what you need to know?