Hello. I am new to fish keeping.

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

August Vukosovich

Reaction score
To make a very long story shorter. I bought a 5 gallon tank. I was told by the employee there to put water conditioner in it then wait 24 hours before adding fish. So that's what i did. I added 2 male guppies and 3 female guppies along with a bottom feeder called cat fish something or other. I has no idea it was over stocked. I did some research and bought an API Master test kit. The ammonia was high at .50ppm and the nitrites were at 5.0ppm by day 5! I was confused and started to research. That's when i became upset. There were too many fish too soon. The males started to die off one by one. I got a ten gallon and transferred the bio filter to it for 24 hours. I primed the water and put them in the ten gallon. I lost the last male amd thats when i decided to come to your forums. I felt like i killed 3 pretty male guppies. More and more research and learned about water changes which i have been doing. In the new tank i now have .25 ammonia and .25 nitrites with 5.0 nitrate. What should i do now please and thank you.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

The following link has information about cycling an aquarium. You will be doing a fish in cycle and I will explain about that below.
http://www.fishforums.net/threads/cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first.421488/

Anything that breaks down in water, be it fish food, fish waste, dead fish, dead plants, will produce ammonia. Ammonia builds up in the water and poisons fish, shrimp, crabs, snails or anything that lives in the water.