Hatchetfish

TorPeteO

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi characin fans,

I'm interested in getting a hatchet fish for my community tank, but bare with me, I have little to no knowledge about them.

I read they were gregarious, if I buy one, would I have to get more than one so that they'd school, or is one enough?

Max. size I've read is about 4 cm, does that sound about right?

Are they appropriate for a community tank, or would they be too aggresive? I read they could be either aggressive or docile, does it depend on the individual?

Any other information (special diet, incompatible tank mates, etc.) would also be very much appreciated. Thanks a lot!

Here's what you need to know:
  • NEED SCHOOLS
  • size depends on species
  • they spend virutally all their time at the surface
  • peaceful (won't hurt even the smallest tank-mates)
  • Most appreciate a fast-flow current tank
  • Most appreciate shade from floating plants
  • You need a hood, they can jump several feet in distance
  • They will only eat floating food. Live worms and brine shrimp will not really work. Unfortunately, hatchets prefer live foods. Best option is insects, like small crickets from the pet shop. Freeze-dried blood worms are also great. They will accept flakes.

Alright, thanks, that answers my question. I don't have the capability to house a school of them, so I'd better not get any.

I'd heard about their leaping ability, which is one of the reasons I was so interested in them. I think that's why they've developed such a large chest, because the pectoral muscles needed to propel them so high out of the water are pretty big, I'm sure.

For future reference, what's the minimum, and what's the ideal size of a school for hatchetfish?

Thanks again,
Peter

6 is preferred, can be happy in 3's. The most common species are marbled, which are about 4 cm, while the silver hatchet may get up to 6-7 cm.