GloFish not very active

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

briangorke

Reaction score
Hi there-

I am relatively new to the hobby and have had my ten gallon tank for about 6 months now. I have had many different species of fish in my tank, but have given them away to friends, a few die off etc. As of the past 3 months, I have 4 GloFish in my tank. At first, when I put them in the tank, they were very active, but all of the sudden, they have stopped moving much, and only swim around every once and a while. I do my bi-weekly water changes and have my water tested in the off weeks at my local fish store. I am not overly worried, as all they do is like float there and move their fins, but I would really enjoy a more active aquarium, while I wait for the winer to subside, and I can add more fish (yes, I live in an area where we have to crank the heat, so it is extremely difficult to regulate temperature).

Can anyone give me advice on how to possibly make them more active?

Thank!

Brian

Hi there-

I am relatively new to the hobby and have had my ten gallon tank for about 6 months now. I have had many different species of fish in my tank, but have given them away to friends, a few die off etc. As of the past 3 months, I have 4 GloFish in my tank. At first, when I put them in the tank, they were very active, but all of the sudden, they have stopped moving much, and only swim around every once and a while. I do my bi-weekly water changes and have my water tested in the off weeks at my local fish store. I am not overly worried, as all they do is like float there and move their fins, but I would really enjoy a more active aquarium, while I wait for the winer to subside, and I can add more fish (yes, I live in an area where we have to crank the heat, so it is extremely difficult to regulate temperature).

Can anyone give me advice on how to possibly make them more active?

Thank!

Brian