Fishless Cycle With Fish Food

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Airbend3r

Reaction score
Sorry for another question but could anyone give me a link or a detailed discription on how to do a fishless cycle with FISH FOOD seeing as im having trouble finding ammonia. I more or less get the concept of fishless cycling but dont fully understand how to do it. Please and thank you :)

It really couldn't be simpler, which is why I usually recommend this method to absolute beginners.

First, set up your tank, plug everything in and get the water running.

Next, add a pinch of flake food equivalent to what you'd add for your first batch of fishes. Let's say you're going to start with six danios or six bronze/peppered Corydoras, either of which would be SUPERB choices for "first fish". For these, a small pinch of food would be fine.

Repeat this once every day or two, just as if you were feeding your fish.

The flake will quickly rot, stimulating the growth of filter bacteria. One advantage over plain ammonia is that flake also feeds non-filter bacteria that help with the nitrogen cycle, what are called saprotrophic bacteria.

By the end of the first week you should detect non-zero levels of ammonia and nitrite. Within 3 weeks ammonia should be dropping close to zero, and nitrite will not be far behind. Once ammonia is zero and nitrite close to zero (ideally, zero) you can add your first fish.

That's it! Couldn't be easier. Because you have to wait for the flake to rot, this method takes a few days longer than using plain ammonia, But the end result is just as good, perhaps better.

Cheers, Neale

Sorry for another question but could anyone give me a link or a detailed discription on how to do a fishless cycle with FISH FOOD seeing as im having trouble finding ammonia. I more or less get the concept of fishless cycling but dont fully understand how to do it. Please and thank you :)

Neale,