Fishless Cycle To Planted During Cycle

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

neo83

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi

I'm new to fish keeping and bought a fluval roma 125 which is a 125 litre (33 US gallons) tank. I have read lots about fishkeeping, fishless cycling and what not and also started fishless cycling using pure ammonia. My tank is currently processing 4ppm NH3 in less than 24 hours and waiting for nitrifying bacteria to develop.

The reason I started fishless cycle was, i did not want to go the planted route, me being a newbie, did not want to take on ferts, co2 and additional maintenance of plants. Now that i'm frustrated with the fishless cycle, in the mean time when i'm completely exhausted reading about various fish, i stumbled upon the planted section on this forum (which is briliiant btw) and various other forums. I learned that i can have a low tech planted arrangement without CO2, without special substrate. All i would need is some easy, fast growing plants, decent enough light and a simple liquid fertiliser. And honestly i'm very jealous of hearing all the planted aquarists who have been advising me that they never do any fishless cycle and all they do is plant the tank heavily, starting off with few hardy fish and then increase the stock as long as the plants are taken care of.

Well, even though i started the fishless cycle, i would want to switch to planted. I already have one Java Fern and one Java Moss in the tank and everything else is plastic plants. After researching and getting advice, I have decided on the following plants:

Hygrophila Polysperma
Amazon Swords
Pygmy chain swords
Crypt Wendtii