Fishless Cycle Brackish

FailWhale

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm new to this whole hobby and I have a few questions. I've done extensive research but I really need specific answers. Firstly, i purchased a new 20 gallon tank with two filters, a heater, ect... And I am attempting a fishless cycle. I have added fish food, and it is definitely decaying. There are little clear white-ish strands of slimy stuff on the food that has been rotting. The tank smells absolutely awful. The person at the store I went to told me to get nutrafin cycle, use it and feed my tank as if there were fish in it. I am setting up a brackish tank for a green spotted puffer, or possibly something else (because If I get a gsp, I will have to upgrade to a 30 gal before it is fully grown.) anyways, I am getting a test kit tomorrow for ammonia and such, and I was wondering if I am on the right track, or am I not doing something right. Also, I need to know when to add the salt to my tank to make it brackish.do I add it after the tank has cycled? During? Do I slowly increase the salinity for the fish in the tank once they're in there? I'm very new to this and I'd love some answers or confirmation that I am on the right track. Thanks!

exactly what kind of fish do you intend on keeping?

tropical fish in general do not require salt,

salt can be used in moderation to help heal wounds, infection, or disease, but should not really be used on a regular basis,

You can do the fishless cycle 3 ways:
1. Use a product like tetra safe start and add the fish immediately.
2. Use an unperfumed bottle of household ammonia - there are guides on how to do this if you search the internet.