Fish Turning Black

xltd1

Reaction score
Fish turning black a week after putting into tank. Fish seems fine. Water parameters are normal.

Top pic is of the one turning colors, the pic on the bottom is what it should look like.

img0884od4.jpg

img0882ib1.jpg

lol i dont think its changing colours, it looks alot like a MELANOCHROMIS JOHANNI, im not sure though, im still learning about these fish, there are people on here who know everything you need to know about these fish and i kno they can tell you what it is so wiat for their reply :)

If im right they change colour once they reach sexual maturity.. but im no expert at all on tropical fish let alone mbuna.

The one that is turning black is a melanochromis aurtas they all start off with yellow and black stripes but the males change. I hope you are aware of how aggressive these are they are the most aggressive mbuna you can get !.

If 2 go black one will kill the other unless its a huge tank at least 6 foot

Most cichlids when they go "dark" or "black" it's a sign of dominance. That "Alpha" status, you don't want to mess with me mentality and (my favorite) where the females at :lol: .

That is indeed a male Auratus going through the normal colour transformation as it reaches adulthood. If both fish are the same size, it is likely that you have 1 male and 1 female. Auratus are a seriously aggressive Mbuna species which will almost certainly dominate your tank - something to keep an eye on.

It is definatly a male aruatus going through its normal color change when it reaches sexual maturaty. They are worse than cons and I suggest you get rid of all the black ones or else everything else will be dead.

Ive got an auratus, the key to them getting along is to put them with lots of other big nasry fish. My Fish list:

1 Melanochromis auratus
1 Jack Dempsey
1 Electric yellow
1 cobalt blue
1 jewel cichlid
1 green severum
1 bala shark
1 red tail shark
1 common pleco
1 angel fish
1 chinese algie eater