Fire Extinguishers and Co2 and solenoids.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Oddball59

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Sorry mods. Posted this in the wrong thread... new and just finding my way around.
Kia Ora.
Hi all. I'm a marine electrical engineer, and certificated Marine Engineer, with 40 years of experience.
I've read through threads about FE (Fire Extinguisher) as a source of Co2. There are some failures out there so I wanted to share my experiences with pneumatics and solenoids which I have probably worked on hundreds of.

"Carbon dioxide is obtained as a by-product during the industrial manufacture of ammonia, alcohol and fertilizers. The gas is captured, purified and compressed in a multi-step process, and finally liquefied. Liquid carbon dioxide is stored and transported in pressurised tanks at a low temperature."

There is also food grade Co2. This is refined to a greater extent. But most of us I'm sure will be using industrial Co2. As found in FE's and bottles from Co2 suppliers, unless you go out of your way to find food grade Co2. Quite difficult but not impossible as pubs and bars use it in their beers. This is the best if you can get it.... "food grade".
A solenoid is basically a electro magnet which when energised generates a magnetic field to pull the plunger (or armature) up. This pushes against what is typically a rubber seal against the pressure of a spring. This opens the solenoid. When the power is switched off the de-energised armature (plunger) is pushed back down by the spring to close the rubber diaphragm.

Tip;- Over a long period of time the spring gets tired and can no longer generate the pressure to close the valve or seal. The springs are finely tuned to provide just enough pressure but not so much the electromagnet has to work too hard to open the solenoid. This would cause the solenoid coil to overheat and fail, burn out.