Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Finding Ammonia In The Uk

Discussion in 'New to the Hobby Questions and Answers' started by Mola Mola, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Aqua Tom

    Aqua Tom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth

    But I can still buy fertiliser & bleach?



    :blink:
     
  2. Claire121

    Claire121 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Sussex UK
    Mola

    I tried the Robert Dyas product and it was so weak I too rang them to ask about it.

    They were very vague, didn't want to answer the question and when I said that if they were selling a product and couldn't tell me the strength I would get on to trading standards, they said it was 10% by weight.

    It isn't.

    I calculated I needed something like 200mls to raise my 125l to 5ppm.....

    I went to Boots in the end.

    HTH

    Ps if anyone is near Gatwick and wants my boots one they can have it as I am done.
     
  3. Mola Mola

    Mola Mola Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North London, UK
    Thanks Claire.

    I didn't fully understand what the manufacturer meant when they said "1 to 10%", but I suppose that they mean it could be anywhere between 1% and 10%.

    I got the tank up to 4ppm of ammonia last night, which took 19ml (rather than an estimated 4ml, assuming 10%). I suppose that probably indicates that the strength of the ammonia I bought was about 2%.

    Anyway, the bottle is 500ml, so I suppose that will be plenty for me to do a full cycle.
     
  4. KittyKat

    KittyKat Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Mola, if you're up to it, you should give trading standards a call.. that's appalling!
     
  5. locust267

    locust267 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    I just ended up buying this one as Boots didn't stock it :( I was a bit doubtful about getting it but I'm on day two of my qualifying week and only have enough boots ammonia for this evenings dose. Grr! Guess I'll be off to return it tomorrow and get mine from Homebase instead!
     
  6. friendlyfishy777

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    I was wondering, is it safe to post Ammonia? I still have lots left from my fishless cycle as my tank cycled in record breaking time, and would be happy to send it to someone else (if they pay postage costs). It's Homebase Ammonia
     
  7. orandas

    orandas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes its safe to post(really tape the lid down, and triple bag it).
    I refuse to go on a wild goose chase(petrol isn't cheap these days), looking for this ammonia, and i bought mine online, and they sent it to me - safely, well sealed, so that the poor postie doesn't get a shock.There was a tiny trickle inside the jiffy bag, but not enough, to wet the envelope. care opening the envelope though. That stuff makes my eyes water & my sinuses explode.

    I recall, it was £2 ish postage for a 500ml bottle.
     
  8. paulbr1

    paulbr1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Bargain, I still have 80% of a bottle, but will never need it again even with a new tank - loads of mature media now...

    Paul.
     

Share This Page