Feed/Fertilizer

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

EmJay

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I'm a total newbie to live plant care.
I'm looking for recommendations for feed/fertiliser (don't know what I need) to keep my Java ferns, Anubias and Moss balls healthy please? Needs to be invertebrate safe please.
Also how often does it need to be used?

Last edited:
Those are all plants which feed from the water column so you need a liquid fertiliser. They are also slow growing so they need less than the bottle will say.
In the UK, the most highly recommended liquid ferts are Seachem Flourish Comprehensive Supplement for the Planted Tank and TNC Lite (just those two, they do make others will similar names so make sure which one). I use the Seachem one and have shrimps and snails. I dose half the recommended amount once a week the day after a water change (if I remember :blush: ) I would start off with quarter of what they recommend and give it a few weeks to see how the plants do.

Root tabs are not usually used for java fern and anubias as they are normally grown attached to decor rather than rooted in the substrate.

Those are all plants which feed from the water column so you need a liquid fertiliser. They are also slow growing so they need less than the bottle will say.
In the UK, the most highly recommended liquid ferts are Seachem Flourish Comprehensive Supplement for the Planted Tank and TNC Lite (just those two, they do make others will similar names so make sure which one). I use the Seachem one and have shrimps and snails. I dose half the recommended amount once a week the day after a water change (if I remember :blush: ) I would start off with quarter of what they recommend and give it a few weeks to see how the plants do.

Thank you

My Java ferns came pre-attached to rocks but the Anubias was just loose, is it best to attach it to something then? If so, what can I use to attach it on with please?