Emergency: plecos might have white spot/ich

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

Johnykiwi

Reaction score
Hi all, Iā€™ve noticed these white dots on my super red LF plecos. They have recently been shipped to me, and Iā€™ve only had them for 4 days, In their own seperate tank with a fully cycled sponge filter.

I noticed it last night, and as I am not very experienced with ich, did some research. Now I put some salt in (later realised that plecos hated salt). Once I realised that I did a big water change, 60 - 70 %, and cranked the heat up to 82, and this morning pushed it to 86 (found this info from other forums here). Now I am fairy certain that it is Ich, but am unsure how they got it as the sponge filter came out of a tank that had not experienced ich so I donā€™t think it came from there. They do seem to be eating zucchini that I put in there, and algae off the glass, later Iā€™ll add some repashy to see if they will eat that.

My question for you is:
1: what should I do/are the steps Iā€™ve taken appropriate.
2: Is it Ich

The below photo is of one of the plecos, but I am happy to try and get more photos if needed, they are only about 3-4 Cm and very young. Thanks

Attachments

• A16D2973-90B5-47D4-A12C-1356DD5D3D2A.jpeg
    A16D2973-90B5-47D4-A12C-1356DD5D3D2A.jpeg
    210.5 KB · Views: 88
I'm not sure if it is white spot and need more pictures, make sure they are in focus. However, you can treat it as if they have white spot just in case.

Salt does nothing to kill white spot. You either use chemicals (Malachite Green or copper), or heat (30C/ 86F).

Do a big water change and gravel clean before raising the temperature. This reduces the number of parasites in the tank and means fewer will infect the fish.

Increase aeration/ surface turbulence when using heat, medications or salt.