Dwarf Puffer With Ick

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Daz CPFC

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I believe my dwarf puffer has become infected with what looks like ick (seems to have tiny white spots down one side) and i was wondering if you can cure a DP using a liquid medicine as i know thier skin is very sensitive as its porous. As ick needs to be killed in the actual water i know the medicene will need to go into the water and soaking the puffer food will do little to help cure him.

Thanks for any help!

Daz

I have no experience with ICH but I read that you could try the salt plus raise temperature treatment. I guess it's not as harsh as some of the ICH medications :unsure: . Hope your little DP gets well.

As isnail said, raising the tempreture a few degrees can cause the spores to hatch quicker :good:
Ick Is caused by stress, so leaving off the lights for a few days might help too.

Plus, as a rule of thumb, cut treatment dosages in half for sensative fish.

HTH,

Maximus

Just like to add.... Melafix or tea tree oil can relieve damaged skin caused by the parasites

Thanks all for the replies. Im not 100% sure if it is Ick but looks like it could be. Just seems strange its only down one side of his body. He is still as active as ever and still eating so strange. I will raise the temp a little and see if it clears up. Will also look into getting some Melafix but haven't seen any stores around here selling it.

Thanks for the help and replies!

You can try pure tea tree oil (100%) instead. It's more economical too. You can get it from ebay or heath stores or even supermarkets. They come in small bottles mostly. 1-2 drops for yor DP tank size. Good luck little puffer :)

As isnail said, raising the tempreture a few degrees can cause the spores to hatch quicker :good:
Ick Is caused by stress, so leaving off the lights for a few days might help too.