Dwarf Gourami Fin Rot?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

NathanWilliams415

Reaction score
I've had my fish tank for around 2-3 weeks now and the gourami for about 2 weeks. A few days ago I noticed my favorite fish has what looks like decay on his fins. It seems to be white on the tips but maybe you guys can see better in the picture. I've added a small amount of aquarium salt as I heard that might help.
Tank size: 20G
Tank mates: 1 powder blue dwarf gourami. 6 neon tetras. 3 cherry barbs . 5 ghost shrimp
I'm just starting out and I dont have any water testing materials. Tank is about 76°F.
Is my fish doomed to become a finless nub? If it is fin rot, are there any economical solutions or will this problem be common enough for me to purchase medicine for further uses?

( the picture I took seems to downplay the amount of fin that is missing. Compared to my other ghourami it is much shorter)

Attachments

• 20180828_122158.jpg
    20180828_122158.jpg
    658.6 KB · Views: 1,776
I forgot to add I just did a 25% water change yesterday. The fish still swims and eats fine but I'm worried it's health may decline rapidly if it gets worse.

Fin rot is caused by poor water quality, which is normally caused by a new filter that does not have enough beneficial filter bacteria living in it to keep the ammonia and nitrite levels at 0.

Reduce the feeding to once every couple of days and do a 75% water change and complete gravel clean 4-8 hours after feeding.

Welcome to TFF. please read this: http://www.fishforums.net/threads/cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first.421488/