Driftwood questions

Coolysd

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hey, y'all!
I have 2 pieces of driftwood that I purchased from Petco. They have been soaking for about a week or so in some old tank water in my 10gal that temporarily housed my Dojos. Yesterday, I took them out and rinsed them off. The tank water was brown, I'm assuming that's from the tannins from the wood. Right?? There were also a couple of patches of some fuzzy looking stuff.

My questions are, is there anything specific that I need/should do to it before I put them in my 75gal with my Dojos?
Should I be concerned about the "fuzzy stuff" or anything else?
I've never used driftwood before, so I'm pretty clueless, lol.
Thanks, y'all, for your support!! :thanks: :thanks::thanks:

The brown water is tannins leeching out, correct, and is harmless. In time, it will lessen to the point of not being visible at all, depending upon the wood type and sizes.

The fuzzy whitish stuff is fungus. Much of what appears from inside wood is harmless, but some is toxic. There is no way to know except an examination by a microbiologist. Of course the fish will show reactions to the toxic fungus, but I don't know how dojo loaches do this. My small tetras and cories became lethargic, their respiration went into very rapid mode, and the tank took on a slightly hazy appearance. The tannin brown colour might well cover this so you won't be able to tell which it is. Do you know the wood type? The toxic fungus does seem to be more prevalent on branchy wood like spiderwood, grapewood, etc. I never had this on the many, many, many chunks of Malaysian Driftwood over the years, but on the one branch I bought it developed the toxic fungus.

The brown water is tannins leeching out, correct, and is harmless. In time, it will lessen to the point of not being visible at all, depending upon the wood type and sizes.